Mission and History

Our mission at Iowa City Pride is to increase positive visibility of the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer/questioning, intersex, and asexual/agender/aromantic (LGBTQIAA) community of Iowa City, by providing opportunities to express and celebrate diverse perspectives, emphasizing acceptance of all individuals regardless of sexual orientation, gender identity or gender expression.
 
Iowa City Pride coordinates an annual Pride festival and related events throughout the year. The Pride board meets the third Sunday of every month at 3 p.m. at rotating locations. Members of the public are welcome to attend. To inquire about attending the meeting, joining the pride board, or volunteering for Pride, email: lisa@iowacitypride.org

2022 Iowa City Pride Board
Interim President - Jewell Amos - jewell@iowacitypride.org
Immediate Past President - Nathan Kelley - nate@iowacitypride.org
Vice President - Joe Reilly - joe@iowacitypride.org
Community Director - Lisa Skriver - lisa@iowacitypride.org
Secretary - Andy Owens - andy@iowacitypride.org
Co-Treasurer - Jason Zeman - jason@iowacitypride.org
Co-Treasurer - Ricardo Rangel Jr - ricardo@iowacitypride.org
Board Member - Luck Kiche - lucket@iowacitypride.org
Board Member - Sam Szlembarski - sam@iowacitypride.org

Entertainment Director - Blake Shaw - blake@iowacitypride.org

"I’ve been embraced by a new community. That’s what happens when you’re finally honest about who you are; you find others like you."

Chaz Bono - Celebrity and Transgender Pioneer

 

Volunteer with Pride!